2021-2022 Samford University Undergraduate Catalog 
    Jul 06, 2022  
2021-2022 Samford University Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Architecture Major (B.S.A.)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: School of the Arts

The architecture program at Samford combines a four-year bachelor of science in architecture with a one-year master of architecture (slated to begin Spring 2024), providing a more accelerated degree in preparation for a rewarding career in design, including architectural licensure (upon NAAB accreditation.)* This program of study will encourage students to see the world differently and to use their talents to enhance the community around them.

Housed together with interior design, these students take certain design courses and studios jointly, work collaboratively on projects, and share in each program’s design education and resources. This unique integrated approach to design heightens students’ awareness of comprehensive design goals and solutions.

*NAAB Candidacy: In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the bachelor of architecture, the master of architecture, and the doctor of architecture. The Samford University Architecture Program has applied for eligibility of accreditation with the NAAB.

Doctor of architecture and master of architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

General Education - Univ Core Curriculum: 22 Credits

Click here  to view the General Education - University Core Curriculum requirements.

General Education - Distribution Areas: 19 Credits

Architecture Major: 89 Credits

Total Required Credits: 130

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: School of the Arts