2022-2023 Samford University Undergraduate Catalog 
    May 22, 2024  
2022-2023 Samford University Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Political Science

Go to Programs and Course Listings


Lee D. Trepanier, Chair, Professor
Randolph C. Horn, Professor
Frederick M. Shepherd, Professor
Marissa Grayson, Associate Professor
Serena Simoni, Associate Professor

Undergraduate Programs and Requirements

Political Science Major (B.A.)  

Interdisciplinary Concentrations
International Relations Interdisciplinary Concentration (B.A.) 
Law, Politics, and Society Interdisciplinary Concentration (B.A.) 
Public Administration Interdisciplinary Concentration (B.A.)  

Political Science Minor  

Interdisciplinary Minor
Latin American Studies Interdisciplinary Minor 
The Department of Political Science offers both a major and minor in political science.

In cooperation with several academic departments across campus, the political science department also offers interdisciplinary concentrations in international relations; law, politics, and society; and public administration; as well as an interdisciplinary minor in Latin American studies*.

All majors and interdisciplinary concentrations earn a bachelor of arts degree.
*See the Department of World Languages and Cultures  section for the Latin American studies minor table.

General Education: University Core Curriculum and Distribution Requirements

See General Education Overview  in the Howard College of Arts and Sciences introductory pages for a list of required and applicable courses.

Political science majors and law, politics, and society majors cannot use POLS 200 (Power and Politics)  for the general education social science requirement.


    MajorInterdisciplinary Majors/ConcentrationMinor


      Political Science