2016-2017 Samford University Catalog 
    May 21, 2024  
2016-2017 Samford University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Cumberland School of Law

Go to Law Tuition and Fees Table  | Go to Departments and Program Offerings


Henry C. Strickland, Dean, Ethel P. Malugen Professor
Brannon P. Denning, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor
Kenneth W. England, Assistant Dean for Administration
Cassandra W. Adams, Assistant Dean, Public Interest Program and
          Director of Community Mediation Center
Dawn Smith Carre, Director of Paralegal Studies
Linda D. Connor, Director of Continuing Education
Patricia C. Harris, Director of Law Student Records
Jennifer D. Hartzog, Director of Admission
Paula K. Kierce, Director of Development
Gregory K. Laughlin, Director of Lucille Beeson Law Library, Associate Professor
Anne L. Marovich, Director of Alumni Relations
Pamela J. Nelson, Director of Student Services and ADA Compliance
Jeffrey B. Price, Director of Career Development
Laura H. Tomlin, Director of Graduate and Professional Programs
Polly A. Manuel, Coordinator of Law School Marketing and Communication
Jeffrey M. Whitcomb, Technology Services Manager


Alyssa A. DiRusso, Whelan W. and Rosalie T. Palmer Professor of Law
Robert J. Goodwin, J. Russell McElroy Professor of Law
Woodrow N. Hartzog, Starnes Professor of Law
William G. Ross, Lucille Stewart Beeson Professor of Law
David M. Smolin, Harwell G. Davis Professor of Constitutional Law
Howard P. Walthall, Leslie S. Wright Professor of Law
T. Brad Bishop, Professor
John L. Carroll, Professor
LaJuana S. Davis, Professor
Michael E. DeBow, Professor
Jill E. Evans, Professor
Michael D. Floyd, Professor
Doris “Wendy” Greene, Professor
Paul Kuruk, Professor
Edward C. Martin, Professor
R. Thomas Stone, Jr., Professor
Deborah Young, Professor
Herman N. “Rusty” Johnson, Associate Professor
Belle H. Stoddard, Assistant Professor
David J. Langum, Research Professor
Tracey M. Roberts, Visiting Professor
A. Robert Greene, Visiting Assistant Professor
Edward L. Craig, Jr., Reference Librarian
Della Holland Darby, Metadata Librarian
Cherie Feenker, Acquisitions Librarian
Rebecca M. Hutto, Cataloging Librarian
Grace L. Simms, Information Technology Librarian


Cumberland School of Law, founded in 1847 as part of Cumberland University in Lebanon, Tennessee, was acquired by Howard College, now Samford University, in 1961. 


Cumberland School of Law has been accredited by the American Bar Association since 1949 and has been a member of the Association of American Law Schools since 1952.

The master of science in health law and policy is accredited by the Compliance Certification Board (CCB)®. However, this program is not accredited by the American Bar Association, nor are students eligible to sit for the bar examination upon completion. See the Master of Science section on the next page for more information.

Departments and Program Offerings