2023-2024 Samford University Graduate Catalog 
    Jun 18, 2024  
2023-2024 Samford University Graduate Catalog

Administration and Administrative Staff




Beck A. Taylor
B.B.A., Baylor University
M.S., Ph.D., Purdue University

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

J. Michael Hardin
B.S., University of West Florida
M.S., Florida State University
M.Div., New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary
M.A., Ph.D., The University of Alabama

Vice President for Advancement and Marketing

Betsy Bugg Holloway
B.A., Vanderbilt University
M.B.A., Samford University
Ph.D., The University of Alabama

Vice President for Enrollment Management

Jason E. Black
B.S., M.S.E., Samford University

Vice President for Finance, Business Affairs, and Strategy

Colin M. Coyne
M.M., Northwestern University
B.S., Ed.D., Vanderbilt University

Vice President for Student Affairs 

R. Philip Kimrey
A.A., Chipola Junior College
B.A., William Carey College
M.R.E., New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary
Ed.D., The University of Alabama

College/School Deans

Howard College of Arts and Sciences

Dawn McCormack, Dean and Professor
B.A., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

School of the Arts

Lance Beaumont, Dean and Professor
B.M., M.M., Texas Christian University
D.M.A., Boston University

Brock School of Business

Charles M. Carson, IV, Dean and Professor
B.P.A., M.B.A., Mississippi State University
Ph.D., The University of Mississippi

Beeson School of Divinity

Douglas A. Sweeney, Dean and Professor
B.A., Wheaton College
M.A., Trinity International University
M.A., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Orlean Beeson School of Education

Anna Elizabeth McEwan, Dean and Professor
B.A, Asbury University
M.S., University of West Florida
Ph.D., Florida State University

School of Health Professions

Alan P. Jung, Dean and Professor
B.S., James Madison University
M.S., Appalachian State University
Ph.D., The University of Alabama

Cumberland School of Law

Blake Hudson, Dean
B.A., University of Montevallo
M.E.S., J.D., Duke University

Moffett & Sanders School of Nursing

Melondie Carter, Dean, Professor, and Distinguished Chair, Nursing
B.S.N., Troy University
M.S.N., Ph.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham

McWhorter School of Pharmacy

Michael A. Crouch, Fred E. McWhorter Dean and Professor 
B.S., The University of North Carolina
Pharm D., Medical University of South Carolina

School of Public Health

Melissa Galvin Lumpkin, Interim Dean, Professor, Public Health
B.S., Auburn University at Montgomery
M.P.H., Ph.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham

Administrative Staff

Academic Affairs
Senior Associate Provost and SACSCOC Liaison Marci Johns
Associate Provost for Student Success and Diversity Denise Gregory
Assistant Provost for Faculty Success P.J. Hughes
Dean of Samford University Library Kim Herndon
Executive Director of Global Engagement Lauren Doss
Director for Academic Fiscal Affairs and Management Nidia Spence
Director of Academic Success Center Bridget Rose
Director of Accessability and Accommodations Bridget Rose
Director of Diversity Education and Development TBA
Director of Diversity Enrichment and Relations TBA
Director of Grants and Sponsored Programs Linnea Minnema
Director of Institutional Research and Analytics Toner Evans
Director of Law Library Greg Laughlin
Director of University Assessment and Accreditation Bryan Gill
Director of University Fellows Todd Krulak
University Registrar Jeremy Dixon
University Professor Chris Metress
Research Professor of History Ginger Frost
Advancement and Marketing
Assistant Vice President for Advancement Doug Wilson
Assistant Vice President for Corporate and Foundation Giving Bo Kerr
Assistant Vice President for Creative and Web Marketing Todd Cotton
Assistant Vice President for University Marketing and Public Relations Carter Schultz
Executive Director of Broadcast Media Brad Radice
Executive Director of Creative Services Miles Wright
Executive Director of Operations Charlotte Russ
Executive Director of the Samford Alumni Association Casey Ramey
Executive Director of University Communication Scarlet Thompson
Senior Director of Advancement Services and Prospect Management Suzanne McAdams
Senior Director for Philanthropic Engagement Rhonda White
Director of Broadcast Media B.J. Millican
Director of Creative Services Sarah Waller
Director of Data Reporting and Analytics Lori Hill
Director of Gift and Estate Planning Gene Howard
Director of Philanthropy and Engagement Clay Pruitt
Director of Prospect Development Andrea Baxter
Director of Records Management Christy Allen
Director of Special Events and Communication Allison Toomey
Director of University Marketing Morgan Black
Enrollment Management
Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management and Dean of Admission Brian Kennedy
Assistant Vice President of Enrollment Management and
     Executive Director of Student Financial Services and Retention
Lane Smith
Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Research Randolph Horn
Director of Diversity and Access Recruitment David Presley
Business and Financial Affairs
Assistant Vice President and Director of Human Resources Joel Windham
Assistant Vice President for Finance and Controller Mike Darwin
Assistant Vice President for Operations, Planning, & Construction Jeff Poleshek
Chief Information Officer Joseph McCormick
Chief Information Security Officer John Bandy
Chief Investment Officer Lisa Imbragulio
Director of Athletics Martin Newton
Director of Budget and Financial Planning Matt DeFore
Director of Business Services Wade Walker
Director of Performance Venues Ian Philips
Director of Public Safety and Emergency Management Tommy Taylor
Director of Transportation Services TBA
Accounting Manager Leslie Jones
Event Coordinator and Wedding Specialist Susanne Howard
President’s Office
Chief of Staff and Assistant to the President Michael Morgan
Assistant to the President for Church Relations Kevin Blackwell
General Counsel Joseph Hunt
Special Advisor to the President for Faith Networks TBA
Student Affairs
Assistant Vice President for Campus and Residential Life Lauren Taylor
Assistant Vice President for Student Development and Support April Robinson
Director of Campus Recreation Nick Madsen
Director of Community Engagement Debby Haralson
Director of Counseling Services and Wellness Programs Richard Yoakum
Director of Greek Life Clint Coulter
Director of Housing and Residence Life Kyle Mitchell
Director of Parent and Family Programs and Advancement Officer for Student Affairs Julie Boyd
Director of Student Involvement Carla Novaes-Reddick
Student Conduct Coordinator and Title IX Coordinator Lisa Overton
Campus Pastor Bobby Gatlin