2018-2019 Samford University Graduate Catalog 
    Jul 19, 2024  
2018-2019 Samford University Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Cumberland School of Law

Go to Departments and Program Offerings


Henry C. Strickland, Dean; Ethel P. Malugen Professor
Brannon P. Denning, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor
Cassandra W. Adams, Assistant Dean, Public Interest Program; Director of Community Mediation Center, Adjunct Professor
Laura H. Tomlin, Director of Graduate and Professional Programs; Administrative Faculty
Gregory K. Laughlin, Director of Lucille Beeson Law Library; Associate Professor


T. Brad Bishop, Professor
John L. Carroll, Professor
LaJuana S. Davis, Professor
Michael E. DeBow, Professor; Stephen Everett Wells Chair in Municipal Law
Alyssa A. DiRusso, Whelan W. and Rosalie T. Palmer Professor of Law
Jill E. Evans, Professor
Doris E. “Wendy” Greene, Professor
Paul Kuruk, Professor
Edward C. Martin, Professor
William G. Ross, Professor; Albert P. Brewer Chair of Ethics and Professionalism
David M. Smolin, Harwell G. Davis Professor of Constitutional Law
R. Thomas Stone, Jr., Professor
Howard P. Walthall, Leslie S. Wright Professor of Law
Deborah Young, Professor; Judge J. Russell McElroy Professorship
Ramona C. Albin, Assistant Professor
Kandice L. Horsey, Assistant Professor
Tracey M. Roberts, Assistant Professor
David J. Langum, Research Professor
Edward L. Craig, Jr., Reference Librarian
Della Holland Darby, Metadata Librarian
Quykerita “Keta” Harmon, Acquisitions Librarian
Rebecca M. Hutto, Cataloging Librarian
Leigh A. Jones, Reference Librarian
Grace L. Simms, Information Technology Librarian
Lynn Hogewood, Administrative Faculty


Cumberland School of Law, founded in 1847 as part of Cumberland University in Lebanon, Tennessee, is one of the oldest law schools in the country. The law school was acquired by Howard College, now Samford University, in 1961. 


Cumberland School of Law has been accredited by the American Bar Association (ABA) since 1949 and has been a member of the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) since 1952.

The master of studies in law with a concentration in health law and policy and the master of laws with a concentration in health law and policy are accredited by the Compliance Certification Board (CCB)®. Since the American Bar Association does not accredit master’s degrees, these programs are not accredited by the A.B.A., nor are graduates of these programs eligible to sit for the bar examination. See the Graduate Law  section for more information.


The Cumberland School of Law is nationally recognized for trial advocacy and quality instruction. The curriculum trains students to practice in all areas of law, including corporate law, trial advocacy, health law, environmental law, and public interest law.

Curricular Options

The Cumberland School of Law offers the following degree options:

Master of Laws (LL.M.): A fully online, 30-hour master’s degree program designed for attorneys interested in the areas of financial services, health care, higher education, or legal project management.

Master of Studies in Law (M.S.L.): A fully online, 36-hour master’s degree program designed primarily for non-lawyers interested in the areas of financial services, health care, higher education, or legal project management.

Juris Doctor (J.D.): A 90-credit doctoral degree program, the classic degree for a practicing lawyer.

For additional information, please contact the law school admissions office:

Office of Law Admission
Cumberland School of Law
Samford University
Birmingham, Alabama 35229
Tel: (205) 726-2702 or (800) 888-7213
E-mail: lawadm@samford.edu
Website: http://samford.edu/cumberlandlaw

Departments and Program Offerings